top of page

Journal #20: Gender and Psychology


For our module three project, we were instructed to make a short video on gender stereotypes. These videos were to include a variety of responses from a wide range of interviews. We then presented our video to the class and received feedback.

Video One (My group):

Our group created a pretty solid project in my eyes. It was hard for me to enjoy this project at first, because the shots and angles used in our video were of a lesser quality than we use in CSTV. I'm used to being yelled at for minor mistakes by our CSTV teacher, so it took me a while to accept that it was okay for things to be slightly off. I had to remember that my group hasn't been involved in the classes I have, so their background knowledge was limited.

My group worked well together, although only a few people did the majority of the work. One thing our group did well was splitting up the interviews. Everyone took a turn taking the camera home, so we were able to gather a wide rage of interviews. There were times when the audio was too quiet, and the viewer really had to strain to hear what was happening. I also think that our questions could have been more psychologically based. They were pretty shallow, and only scratched the surface of gender roles.

Video Two (T-bone's project):

This was probably my favorite video out of the three. They used little video clips to show the stereotypes as opposed to just listing them. They also choose people with good things to say for their interviews. The teachers and students chosen presented a wide range of opinions, which helped move their video along. There were a few video clips that were inaudible. These provided an awkward three seconds, and would have been better if they were just cut from the project. Overall, it was a solid project.

Video Three (Kaci's Group):

This group attempted to structure their video like a news segment, which was clever. You could tell that this group had an editing and filming background. They made use of subtitles on quiet clips, which helped the viewer understand what was happening. There were times when the background noise was too much, and it was hard to understand what was happening. If they could make those small adjustments, their video would have been a ton better.

I enjoyed the technological aspect of this project. It was hard to adjust to the new editing program, because I'm not used to using Imovie. After watching five tutorial videos, I think I finally got the hang of it. Our group didn't run into any huge roadblocks, so I'm thankful for that.

In the end, I think that our groups were too large for this project. I understand that the technology available to us was limited; however, many of our group members ended up sitting around because there wasn't enough for them to do. I also think that a crash course in Imovie would have been helpful to the class. A quick walk-through would have saved us from using class time to figure the program out. Overall, I enjoyed this project.

Images Used:

  • http://genderspectrum.weebly.com/media-portrayal-of-gender-stereotypes.html


bottom of page